Possession of any controlled substance in Alabama is a crime. If convicted, you may face time in prison, among other legal penalties. Whether you will face felony or misdemeanor charges depends on the drugs in question and whether you are a repeat offender.
For marijuana, it is a criminal offense to possess any amount of the drug in Alabama, even for personal use. The state has not yet decriminalized marijuana, although such legislation is in the pipeline. It means that you may face arrest, prison time and a criminal record even for the first-time possession of a small amount of marijuana.
The potential legal penalties for marijuana possession
Possession of marijuana for personal use is a Class A misdemeanor in Alabama. This is the most serious misdemeanor level, and you face up to one year in prison, a fine not exceeding $6,000 or both. It is important to note that you can still face felony charges for marijuana possession for personal use.
If you had been previously convicted for marijuana possession and were arrested with a small amount of the drug for personal use, you will be charged with a Class D felony. It carries a sentence ranging from one year and one day to a maximum of 5 years and a fine not exceeding $7,500.
Marijuana possession for reasons other than personal use is considered a Class C felony. You can face a minimum jail term of one year and one day but not more than ten years and a fine of up to $15,000.
The consequences of marijuana possession in Alabama can be serious. If you are facing such charges, it is in your best interests to reach out for help as soon as possible. Having experienced legal guidance will increase your chances of a preferable outcome to the charges you face.